Saturday I got up bright and early. Very early as I was still on East Coast time so I was out of bed at 4AM much to the chagrin of Mr. Poe and the dogs. I had a Different Spokes ride on the calendar and I was worried it was gonna be too much for me but I figured I could always cut it short if I needed to. Nobody showed up for my ride-- I think the high mileage scares a lot of people off-- so I headed off on my own. I came down the Peninsula and stopped for a pic Devil's Slide as I came down Skyline:
Google maps had shown me a new bike route down into Pacifica going down Skyline Drive and it was indeed nice riding. Much less terrifying than coming down on the freeway:

I got a bunch of pics in Pacifica. It was a gorgeous day and the beaches looked spectacular:

I continued through Pacifica and made my way over to Devil's Slide. They're finishing up a new tunnel that's going to make transportation a lot easier. It's very futuristic:
I don't know what these things are but they sure are cool looking:
I made my way to Devil's Slide:
This is the view looking north towards the other end of the new tunnel:

I continued south. This is Half Moon Bay with always has a bunch of people learning surfing:
I continued South. This is Tunitas Creek:
I made my way to Pescadero Creek and then headed into town. I wanted to stop for a soda and some snacks and to my delight I found that they also had burritos! They're good-- they aren't as good as Whale of a Deli in Point Reyes Station but they're a lot better than Grilly's in Fairfax. My hero:
The Pescadero Community Hall:
Pescadero's pretty church. I think the sign said 1868:
Me:
I started making my inland. This is Pescadero Creek:
I climbed. A lot. This is from the top of Pescadero Creek:
I headed over to La Honda and then over to Woodside. Things got a little ugly coming down 84 into Woodside. The road is a nightmare. No shoulder. Crappy pavement. Lots of shade so you can't really see the road. And, with the winter we've had there was plenty of debris. So I adjusted my speed accordingly. About a third of the way down the hill I heard somebody screaming at me. Not OK. I tried to move over to the right but there wasn't really anywhere to go and I couldn't make it over far enough for cars to pass me. At this point I was starting to get a little pissed because there was nothing I could really do and any idiot could see that. I finally stopped to get a pic and realized that the yelling was coming from two sources. The first was some old guy in a convertible-- that I could pretty much guess. But I was also getting yelled at by cyclists who weren't happy with the speed I was going. So not OK. I hope the assholes who did that find themselves on unfamiliar rodes in similar circumstances really soon so they can see what jerks they were. Not cool, Woodside. This is the picture I stopped to take. If the view hadn't been so pretty those people would have been treated to a very, very slow trip down Woodside as I tend to slow down a little or a lot when people pull crap like that to reward them for their awful behavior:
I headed into Woodside and contemplated how I was getting home. I thought about Canada, but I was sick of climbing and I've down that route a couple of times. I asked a few questions and settled on Alamed de las Pulgas. It was good riding on mostly bike lanes and deposited me in San Carlos which has a really pretty downtown:
It also has a beautiful Romanesque Revival former train station:
It got ugly after San Carlos. San Mateo doesn't have great bike routes that I could find. I ended up on El Camino Real and then Delaware. I should have headed over to Coyote Point in Burlingame but I opted against that which was a mistake. It was bad choice after bad choice until I found the Centennial Trail near Tanforan that got me to South San Francisco. By that point El Camino was wide enough that I could easily bike on it. I got this pic in Colma. I was feeling so beat by this point that I thought I could save everybody a step by just stopping here:
I limped home and had dinner. I felt reasonably strong on the bike but I'm still working out a couple of injuries from my spill on the 22nd. I got cleaned up and went to bed. Long ass day.
|
|
| Today |
114.4 |
| Week to date |
114.4 |
| Month to date |
885.2 |
| Year to date |
2,309.3 |
| To Goal |
5,690.7 |
| Over (Under) plan |
(320.8) |
| YTD Mileage vs Last Year |
(8,160.4) |
| Rolling Year |
7,080.9 |
| Since Inception 10/1/07 |
30,814.8 |
|
Recent Comments