April 30, 2013

  • Sunday, April 28, 2013

    Sunday was my ALC training ride out to Alpine Dam Lake and Mount Tam.  It started out as pretty much a disaster.  My friend Ron let me know on Saturday night that he’d been reading the route description on the ALC website and it stated that the meet time was gonna be McLaren.  I’d copied the text verbatim from the prior year and hadn’t noticed that.  FUCK!!!!  I thought about it and realized that we had to have coverage at both McLaren and the Sports Basement or we’d drop somebody so I called Buz and got that all sorted and then posted in the Facebook group and to all the RSVP’s that they could either go to Sports Basement of McLaren Lodge.  In the end it was kind of a non issue.  The ride got started from both starting points without too much fuss and I ran into Buz in Mill Valley.  It really makes me wonder why we don’t have identical rides as the ones from SF leaving from Sausalito a half an hour later with one ride leader.  I think that would be a very good idea.

    Everybody did really well on Mt. Tam and there weren’t any tears as far as I could see.  I was really proud of everybody.  Here’s the McLaren gang stretching:



    We went to Fairfax for snack and everybody chowed down because there was a lot of climbing ahead and no more food choices til Mill Valley:


    Then we started climbing.  Here are the pics from out climb first up to Alpine Dam Lake and then up to Mount Tam:




    Patrick joined us and that’s always a treat:





    We headed down to Pantoll and then to Cafe Del Soul in Mill Valley for lunch where I had the first thing I’d ever eaten there I wouldn’t recommend.  Stay away from the quinoa wrap.  It’s delicious but the wrap isn’t tightly packed because quinoa is so much softer than rice so it kind of fell apart in my case on top of Jen’s dog Maya who enjoyed it very much.


    I headed home for dinner and then got ready for bed.  It had been a very long day.

    Bike Mileage:

    Today 61.4
    Week to date 264.5
    Month to date 975.7
    Year to date 2,735.8
    To Goal 5,264.2
    Over (Under) plan 83.7
    YTD Mileage vs Last Year (265.3)
    Rolling Year 5,736.9
    Since Inception 10/1/07 43,203.5

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *