Month: July 2013

  • Monday, July 29, 2013

    Monday was walk2werq Monday.  Mr. Poe doubted that I’d get it together and predicted I’d be too hung over from Dore Alley to get up at 5 and be out of the house by 6.  But I managed it somehow.  I managed to get a 10k walk in before work which kind of surprised me.  I made it all the way over to Presidio Heights before I had to turn to go into work.  It was a really fun walk that I’m looking forward to repeating.

     

    I headed over Masonic and then made my way over to USF.  Here’s Saint Ignatius in the early morning light:

     

     

    I got a few shots of beautiful Presidio Heights homes as I headed down Spruce:

     

     

     

    The beautiful Presidio Wall at Pacific:

     

     

    Then it was over to the Gold Coast of Pacific Heights.  This is the view looking down the Lyon Steps:

     

     

    I think this super fantastic home was recently redone:

     

     

    Pretty Lafayette Square which has just been done over.  I was too busy looking to get any pics but I’ll have some soon:

     

     

    Then I went and got some donuts and then took California into the Financial District.  They’ve ripped up the Great Stairs in front of Grace Cathedral because the waterproof membrane beneath it is leaking into the rooms below:

     

     

    I headed home for lunch and then went to a spin class after work.  After that I headed home for dinner and then I went to bed.  It had been a very long day.

  • Sunday, July 28, 2013

    I had big plans for Sunday morning but I was so worn out from the ride the day before that I lounged around and did nothing until mid day.  Then Wanderson came over and we headed down to Dore Alley South of Market.  Here’s the secret to enjoying these things:  have a few drinks before you go.  You need to drink enough so that you’re not quite so grossed out by all the things you’re seeing but not so much that it slows you down.  We had a great time walking around and chatting up the assortment of shady characters assembled:

     

     

    We headed home and then went to the Lookout for Jock Sunday which Different Spokes was hosting.  I signed up for 2 hours but was only able to manage 1.  I got so tired that we had to leave at about six.  We went to Sliders across the street for dinner and Mr. Poe thought it was OK but I thought it was nasty.  The vegan thing was just awful and their fries were greasy.  Especially disappointed by the fries.  After we headed home and I went to bed. 

  • Saturday, July 27, 2013

    Saturday I led a Different Spokes ride out to Tamales.  It was the longest ride I’d done this year–  118.9 miles with a fair amount of climbing.  We lucked out with low headwinds coming up Tomales Bay and fantastic weather the rest of the ride.  It was a little foggy, but on a day like that it’s a good thing.

     

    Tomales Bay:

     

     

    Walker Creek on the way up to Tomales:

     

     

    Gordon, William and Ray in Tomales:

     

     

    Me at Perry’s on the way home.  I had to wait a little and got bored:

     

     

     

    Beautiful Chileno Valley:

     

     

    At the Golden Gate Bridge on the way home:

     

     

    I got home around 7PM and had a big dinner and then went to bed.  I was completely beat.

     

    Bike Mileage:

    Today 118.9
    Week to date 171.2
    Month to date 544.3
    Year to date 5,448.1
    To Goal 2,551.9
    Over (Under) plan 823.4
    YTD Mileage vs Last Year 189.2
    Rolling Year 6,679.0
    Since Inception 10/1/07 45,915.8
  • Friday, July 26, 2013

    Friday I came down on Muni into work.  I went to a spinning class over lunch which was blissfully uneventful and then I went for a nice walk after work.  I started off in Golden Gate Park and made my way over to UCSF.  Here I am looking up at the hill from Kezar:

     

     

    Some of the pretty early 20th c homes near UCSF:

     

     

    Then I climbed the steps up Oakhurst Lane which has a grand view when the fog isn’t being so uncooperative:

     

     

    This is the forest on Mount Sutro:

     

     

    And then back to my beloved Midtown Terrace:

     

     

    I headed over to Portola and then Corbett and then down 24th St.  These are the steps that go underneath Portola:

     

     

    I attempted to get donuts at Whole Foods on 24th but they were out which was sad.  So I headed home and had dinner and got ready for bed.  I had a big weekend planned.

  • Thursday, July 25, 2013

    Thursday I came into work Market to Laguna to McAllister to Polk to Pacific to Powell to Jackson to Columbus to Clay to Sansome.  I headed home for lunch where I learned that poor Mr. Poe has been saddled with jury duty yet again and will be spending the last bit of his summer at some civil trial.  This is like the zillionth time he’s been on a jury.  I think they really look for school teachers because they tend to have a propensity for listening carefully and following directions.  I headed back to work and then after went on a nice ride. 

     

    I headed off 2nd to Howard to 11th to Harrison to 21st to Valencia to Tiffany to 29th to San Jose to Monterey where I ran into my friend Gabe walking home from work.  It’s nuts how many people I know who live in the Sunnyside.  I continued on Monterey to Northgate to Darien.  Darien is a pretty street in a neighborhood called ‘Mt. Davidson Manor’ according to Google.  It’s got underground utilities which is a nice perk and a bunch of pretty Mediterranean style homes.  I got a bunch of pics as I headed down it:

     

     

    Tudor-terranean?

     

     

    I continued on Darien to Santa Ana that has a pretty footpath that connects Upland with San Fernando:

     

     

    I continued on Santa Ana to Ocean to Paloma.  This is the Ingleside Gate at Paloma:

     

     

    I took Paloma to Mercedes to 20th to Eucalyptus to Clearfield into 34th to Yorba to 35th to Vicente to 18th to Ulloa to 17th to Taravel to Merced to Hernandez to Laguna Honda to Portola to Corbett and home for dinner.  After I got cleaned up and went to bed early.  I still don’t feel like I’m caught up on sleep since Mr. Poe was out of town and nobody got any rest.  But I’m getting there.

     

    Bike Mileage:

    Today 26.8
    Week to date 52.3
    Month to date 425.4
    Year to date 5,329.2
    To Goal 2,670.8
    Over (Under) plan 748.4
    YTD Mileage vs Last Year 70.3
    Rolling Year 6,560.1
    Since Inception 10/1/07 45,796.9
  • Wednesday, July 24, 2013

    I was pretty beat on Tuesday so I came into the office on Muni and went to the gym over lunch.  After work I went and hung out with Mr. Chris and the girls.  Then I headed home for dinner.  Mr. Poe had a PTA meeting so I had to feed the dogs and myself and then we waited for him to come home and then we all went to bed.  Long day.

     

    Wednesday I couldn’t get it together in the morning so I came down Market into work and then headed home for lunch with Mr. Poe.  I went on a nice ride after work.  I headed off down Pacific and stopped for some pics of some of the magnificent homes in the Gold Coast of Pacific Heights:

     

     

    I continued on Pacific to Presidio to Jackson to Cherry to Washington to Arguello to Lake to 28th to Camino Del Mar to Lake to Arguello to Washington to Presidio and into the Presidio.  I came out of the Presidio at the Lombard Gate and then took Greenwich to Polk to Vallejo.  I stopped at Vallejo and Jones for some pics of pretty Russian Hill:

     

     

    I took Jones to Pacific to Taylor to California to Hyde to Market to 17th to Ord and home for dinner.  I had dinner with Mr. Poe and then we went to bed very early.  It had been a very long day.

     

    Bike Mileage:

    Today 46.4
    Week to date 126.8
    Month to date 373.1
    Year to date 5,276.9
    To Goal 2,723.1
    Over (Under) plan 783.7
    YTD Mileage vs Last Year 127.7
    Rolling Year 6,521.8
    Since Inception 10/1/07 45,744.6
  • Monday, July 22, 2013

    Monday was walk2werk Monday!  It was very foggy when I woke up, and I think I probably should have chosen a different route because of that because my walk to Balboa Park BART was super foggy and drizzly.  I headed off from my house and up the Pemberton Steps and then up to Midtown Terrace west of Twin Peaks.  I think I’ve figured out why this neighborhood remains a little sleepy and out of the way.  This is the weather there much of the time:

     

     

    My destination was Sunnyside Playground which has seen quite a bit of improvement in the last couple of years.  I’m not sure which bond issue financed it but it looks fantastic:

     

     

    I got a couple more pics of cute houses as I made my way from Mangels to Colon and then down to Ocean for donuts at Whole Foods:

     

     

    I headed home for lunch and Mr. Poe had almost finished getting the house sorted.  I managed to not make a terrible mess while he was gone but I’m afraid I just don’t have the eye for domestic perfection that he does.  After work I headed over for my spin class but the instructor was sick and they didn’t have a sub so class was canceled.  They let us into the spin studio so I put on some headphones and spun for an hour.  It’s harder to organize a spin workout than you’d think.  I got a great workout but I didn’t feel like I was really challenged in the way that am when there’s an instructor.  After class I did a little shopping on my way home because Mr. Poe’s birthday is coming up and I’m still working on what I’m gonna get him.  After, I headed home for dinner and then went to bed early.  It’s so good to have Mr. Poe back.  Finally, all is well in the world.

  • Sunday, July 21, 2013

    Sunday was the annual Different Spokes club picnic out to China Camp.  I couldn’t be gone the whole day because of the dogs so I planned to turn around a little early and not go to the picnic.  Here’s all the glamour at Peet’s before we headed off:



    The ride was a bit of a disaster.  I realized far too late that I didn’t really know where we were going and where we were supposed to stop for snack.  Fuck!  I got three people plus me hopelessly lost on the way to the Larkspur Ferry terminal and we ended up sending them to San Rafael through San Anselmo because at least we knew that route and weren’t gonna screw it up.  After we sent the riders in the correct direction of the picnic, William and I headed to the new park in San Anselmo to check it out.  George Lucas paid for either all or most of it so there’s an Indiana Jones and a Yoda sculpture in the fountain.  I approve:



    I headed home and got cleaned up.  I had to head into the Castro as we’d run out of Diet Coke (the horror) but luckily I ran into a bunch of people I knew so that was nice.  I headed home and had dinner and then went and collected Mr. Poe from the airport.  Hooray!  We headed home and I slept the best since he’d left ten days earlier.  I’m so happy to have him home as are the dogs. 

    Bike Mileage:

    Today 46.4
    Week to date 126.8
    Month to date 373.1
    Year to date 5,276.9
    To Goal 2,723.1
    Over (Under) plan 783.7
    YTD Mileage vs Last Year 127.7
    Rolling Year 6,521.8
    Since Inception 10/1/07 45,744.6
  • Saturday, July 20, 2013

    Friday I came into work on Muni early and went to the gym.  I headed back mid day for spin class which was pretty low on drama thankfully.  After work I headed over to Pastel to get my hair cut and then I headed home to deal with the dogs.

     

    Saturday I led a short Different Spokes ride out to San Bruno Mountain.  I didn’t want to be gone too long because the dogs get pretty unmanageable with Mr. Poe out of of town so I chose San Bruno Mountain which is maybe a three hour round trip with a good amount of climbing.  My friends David and Terry showed up and we had a really good day.  We rode through Golden Gate Park where I noticed that Stow Lake was drained.  I’m pretty sure it’s supposed to be concrete on the bottom so, gross:

     

     

    We headed down to the coast and down to Daly City where we stopped for snack.  David went to the Happy Donut on East Market where they fill donuts with Bavarian Cream to order which is kind of amazing.  Then we headed up to the top of San Bruno Mountain where we stopped for pics:

     

     

    We headed home on Geneva where I can’t believe I’d overlooked the funicular on this building.  I think it’s been around for a while.  Fabulous:

     

     

    David and Terry:

     

     

    We headed home and I got cleaned up.  The dogs and I had dinner and then we all went to bed.

     

    Bike Mileage:

    Today 27.1
    Week to date 80.4
    Month to date 326.7
    Year to date 5,230.5
    To Goal 2,769.5
    Over (Under) plan 759.3
    YTD Mileage vs Last Year 81.3
    Rolling Year 6,475.4
    Since Inception 10/1/07 45,698.2
  • Thursday, July 18, 2013

    Thursday I got up early came down Market and went to the gym before work.  I headed home for lunch where the dogs were still on strike over the absence of Mr. Poe this week.  Question:  How did they join SEIU?  Also, where do they keep getting the protest placards?  It makes no sense.  After work I went for a great ride.  I headed out down Pacific and stopped at the Gold Coast for some pics.  This house that goes with this super fantastic staircase is set back a bit.  I love it.  The drama!

     

     

    A few more super fantastic mansions:

     

     

    I continued on Pacific to Presidio to Jackson.  This fabulous home is on Jackson and Locust:

     

     

    I continued on Jackson to Arguello to Cabrillo to Funston and into Golden Gate Park at the Rose Garden.  The roses looked gorgeous and I was kind of surprised because we haven’t had much of a summer:

     

     

    The De Young from the Rose Garden:

     

     

    I headed over to Stow Lake and got a few pics of the Chinese Pavilion:

     

     

    I headed over to MLK to La Playa to Irving to The Great Highway to Taravel to Merced to Hernandez to Laguna Honda to Portola to Corbett and home.  We all had dinner and then we went to bed.  Three more days til Mr. Poe comes home.  Can’t wait.

     

    Bike Mileage:

    Today 25.9
    Week to date 53.3
    Month to date 299.6
    Year to date 5,203.4
    To Goal 2,796.6
    Over (Under) plan 776.0
    YTD Mileage vs Last Year 54.2
    Rolling Year 6,488.3
    Since Inception 10/1/07 45,671.1